Skip to main navigation.

2012 Annual Meeting

2012 annual meeting focuses on the International Year of Cooperatives

WIN Energy REMC would like to thank those who attended our 73rd annual meeting, which was held March 31, at Vincennes Lincoln High School.  There were 515 registered members in attendance, as well as, Carsyn Wayland singing the National Anthem.several other guests.  During registration, attendees were entertained by Mariah Creek Bluegrass Musicians.   The meeting began with Carsyn Wayland, a sixth grade student from Sullivan Middle School, singing the National Anthem followed by Board Director, Bob Phillips leading the invocation.

Board Chairman, Daniel Schuckman and corporate attorney, E.D. Powell conducted the business meeting.  The administrative report was provided by WIN Energy CEO, David Jones and financial reports were given by Board Treasurer, Marion Jochim and REMC auditor, Joe Boesing. Newly elected 2012 board members: Daniel Schuckman to represent district 3, Harley Drake to represent district 8, and Phillip Carter to represent district 9.

The election of directors was conducted and the members that were present voted to elect the following directors to represent the membership in their districts:  Daniel Schuckman to represent district 3, Harley Drake to represent district 8, and Phillip Carter to represent district 9. 

The theme of this year’s meeting was the celebration of the International Year of Cooperatives.  The celebration focuses on the cooperative business model, which puts members first, focuses on innovation to meet member needs and provides a service to local communities.  As WIN Energy CEO, David Jones said in his speech, “Although our industry is facing many challenges we still have reason to celebrate.  The cooperative business model works and it’s because of you, our Annual Meeting Audiencemembers, that your cooperative is strong.  By working together we can face the industry challenges, make a difference in our local communities and do our part to ‘Build a Better World’.”

Members in attendance received a $5.00 electric bill credit, an energy efficiency kit and had a chance to win one of 126 attendance prizes.  The grand prize winner was Ollie Doublemont of Petersburg, who won a John Deere riding lawn tractor.  Congratulations to all the winners at this year’s meeting and we look forward to seeing you at the 2013 annual meeting!

Ollie Doublemont of Petersburg, sits on the John Deere riding lawn tractor he won, while his female guest stands by.

IYC Logo - Cooperative Enterprises Build A Better World